My Experience

3.5 years of working as a teacher of English Language at British Council, Calcutta, India.

My Qualifications

B.A. (English Literature from Smith College, U.S.A.)

M.A. (Journalism and Public Affairs, American University, U.S.A.)

M.A. (English Language Teaching and Applied Linguistics from King’s College, London)

PhD (in Applied Linguistics, ongoing, third year at University College London, London)

My Approach To Private Tuition

I believe in learner autonomy and student driven methods of teaching. So while tutoring, I focus on designing lessons where the student can play a very active role. Instead of just presenting the material in a lecture format, my years of working as a teacher with the British Council has taught me to develop lessons where students can learn proactively by engaging with the material through tasks. I like learning to be activity based and a lot of focus on practice. So if I am appointed as a tutor, I am positive my students will benefit from the experience and their knowledge level with surely improve.

 

Interesting Fact

Besides reading, I treat food as a hobby. I like to read about food history and whenever I travel to a new place (I’ve been to about 30 countries of the world) I try the local cuisine and learn about the local culture through the food they offer. I aspire to be a travelling food critic someday and have my personal food blog called www.dipadishes.wordpress.com

 

My Blog Post

 

Dipanwita Ghosh Huntley Tutors English Language and Literature Tutor - London Private Tuition - A Level, GCSE, 11+

Dipanwita Ghosh

Subjects

English